Thursday, July 23, 2009

News about "Design Shibori" students exhibition


Like so many other institutions stung by the recession, our friends at the Colorado State University (CSU) have had to endure some budget cuts resulting in their decision to cancel the installation of "Design Shibori" at their university gallery.

Design Shibori was first hosted in Paris (Nov 08) and organized by ENSAD (Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs) for the ISS'08 - Paris. After, it toured to UK. A selection of works then traveled to Japan. *See all previous blog posts about DS here

If you were an exhibiting artist in the Paris or UK exhibition and you have not yet had your works returned to you, please contact: Gisèle Belliot / gisele.belliot AT

Artists shown in Arimatsu (see list of exhibitors below) should have received their works by now. If not, please comment on this post and leave your email address.


Arimatsu Event Details:
Exhibition Title: "Design Shibori: Juried International Students Exhibition"  

Date: Jan 10 - Feb 28, 2009 期日 : 2009年1月10日から2月28日
Originally organized in November 2008 in Paris by ENSAD (l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs) and the World Shibori Network for the International Shibori Symposium 2008 France. 
Selected works from the original exhibition in Paris traveled to Arimatsu, Japan, in celebration of the 400th Anniversary of the founding of Arimatsu Village in 1608. 国立装飾芸術学院(パリ)とインターナショナル絞りネットワーク(バークレイ)共催、第七回国際絞りシンポジウム併催イヴェント Venue: Arimatstu Shibori Museum (Shibori Kaikan) in Arimatsu, Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
会場 : 有松絞り会館資料室
Supported by : Aichi Prefecture Shibori Industry Association and the Committee for 400 Anniversary Celebration for Founding of Arimatsu Village
主催 : 愛知県絞り工業組合、有松設村400年記念事業委員会

Exhibiting Artists in "Design Shibori" Arimatsu, Japan:
Sally Blake (University of New Sotuh Wales, Australia); Anna Bramhall (Univ for Creative Arts "UCA", Royaume-Uni); Chiayi Cheng (Tainan National University of the Arts); Sarah Pearson Cooke (Bath Spa University Royaume-Uni); Rebecca Cross (Kent State University, USA); Alice Egler & Sonia Dupont-Caye (ENSAD); Haruko Goto (Joshibi University of Art & Design); Roughui Guo & Guoxiang Yuan (Hong Kong Polytechnic University); Marie-Charlotte Hebert (ENSAD); Maud Jarnoux (ENSAD); Sarah King (Univ for Creative Arts "UCA", Royaume-Uni); Mustafa Kula (Dokuz Eylul University, Turkey); Estelle Machineau (ENSAD); Janica Marcovitch (Univ of New South Wales, Australia); Firdos Samar (National Institute of Design, India); Kim Tattersall (Univ for Creative Arts "UCA", Royaume-Uni); Saito Tomoka (Tama Art University); Josefine Wiel Freden (School of Design & Crafts "HDK", Sweden); Becky Williams (Cardiff School of Art & Design Toyaume-Uni)

No comments:

Post a Comment